Analysis and Reporting System for the Improvement of Patient Safety through Real-Time Integration of Laboratory Findings

The aim of the consortium partners involved in the AMPEL project is to develop a software that enhances clinical care and increases patient safety through digital networking. The user-oriented software solution in the making strives to have a lasting effect on the quality of patient care by ensuring that an appropriate course of therapy is ascertained through electronic monitoring of diagnostics in real time.

This measure is co-funded with tax revenues based on the budget adopted by the members of the Saxon State Parliament.

Project

The data information, evaluation, notification and reporting system planned within the framework of the AMPEL project (Analysis and Reporting System for the Improvement of Patient Safety through Real-Time Integration of Laboratory Findings) is intended to support medical decision-makers in their work to provide patient care – even in smaller peripheral medical care facilities – through improved availability and automatic prioritisation of medical information.

The core element of the project is the reporting system, which alerts the laboratory physician within seconds if there are indications of acute clinical patterns and delays in further diagnosis and treatment. After a medical evaluation of all relevant information has been conducted, the laboratory physician immediately establishes contact with the treating physician in order to inform, accelerate further procedures and minimise risks for the patient. A complex consolidation of data serves as the basis for the comprehensive bioinformatic-supported laboratory medical evaluation of the results and data from the laboratory and hospital information system.

At the end of the project, a product will be developed that evaluates possible further treatment steps and therapy options in real time and transmits them to the attending physician by means of an electronic reporting system. Suitable and predominantly method-independent reporting of significant pathological results will also support the treatment success after the patient has been discharged.

After the project is completed, the product will be transferred to the controlling software Vismedica® of Xantas AG and made available for commercial use.

Flow chart and goals of the AMPEL project

Goals

Improvement of Clinical Care

The telemedical solution to be developed and established will automatically form links in real time to additional patient-related clinical information from the hospital’s patient information system on the basis of laboratory medical findings.

Alert in case of Delayed or Inadequate Therapeutic Action

If possible delays or deviations are indicated, a medical reporting system is immediately activated to ensure the necessary steps are taken on short notice in the dialogue between the laboratory physician and the responsible practitioner.

Patient Safety Enhancement

In order to increase patient safety, the system will monitor and report in real time whether medically appropriate consequences and follow-up examinations have been derived from the requested laboratory values in a timely manner.

Interpretation Aids for Particular Constellations of Findings

The to-be-developed telemedical solution will use the ILM’s quality-assured laboratory medical diagnostics to provide information regarding the presence of specific symptoms and clinical patterns and analyse within seconds (“real time”) whether the correct consequences and follow-up examinations have been derived from the requested laboratory values.

Development of Regulatory Frameworks

The rules and regulations used in the AMPEL system are based on decision trees that critically consider current literature, as well as retrospective analyses of results from routine laboratory medical diagnostics.

Transferability of the results

The AMPEL system should also support smaller hospitals in patient care. Laboratory medical findings are ideally suited for this purpose, since their high quality and good comparability, even between different medical laboratories, already represent a promising starting position for suitable clinical decision support systems. This will be further improved by the implementation of a uniform parameter designation LOINC (Logical Observation Identifiers Names and Codes).

Documentation of Findings and Diagnoses

The results of the laboratory medical reporting system are collected for each patient case over the entire inpatient stay. Together with other significantly notable laboratory medical results, they are then transferred in a suitable form from the IT system to the physician’s letter within the scope of patient discharge management.

Medical Coding of Findings and Diagnoses

The software retrospectively analyses the final documentation of clinical cases and facilitates the consideration of relevant coding and billing aspects. Not only is this of great economic importance, especially from the point of view of billing with health insurance companies, but it also provides data that can be used for a retrospective evaluation of the treatment process.

Consortium

Leipzig University of Medicine / Institute for Laboratory Medicine

The Institute for Laboratory Medicine, Clinical Chemistry and Molecular Diagnostics (ILM) of the University Medical Centre of Leipzig (UML) is one of the leading laboratory medical institutes in Germany. Within the scope of patient care, roughly 1,500 patient examinations with a total of about 20,000 laboratory medical analyses are carried out daily for the clinic, faculty and the Medical Care Centre (MedVZ) of the UHL. The ILM is accredited according to the 98/79/EC and DIN EN ISO/IEC 17025 directives as well as the 93/42/EEC, 90/385/EEC and DIN EN ISO 15189 directives. The range of services includes clinical chemistry, haematological diagnostics, haemostaseology, immune and cerebrospinal fluid diagnostics, endocrinological diagnostics, as well as molecular and special diagnostics.

In addition, as the Screening Centre of Saxony together with the Dresden location, the ILM provides about 50,000 new-born screening examinations for congenital metabolic diseases annually for the Free States of Saxony and Thuringia. Research at the ILM includes metabolome and protein analysis as well as molecular and genetic research of vascular diseases and metabolic disorders. Furthermore, the Institute has its own department for the laboratory analysis of clinical studies. There are research cooperations with numerous national and international cooperation partners from the research and science sectors. In this context, the ILM is also an significant partner in important study projects such as the “LIFE” study (Leipzig Research Centre for Civilization Diseases) and the Medical Informatics Initiative of the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research “SMITH” (Smart Medical Information Technology for Healthcare).

Muldental Clinics Inc. (non-profit)

The non-profit organisation Muldental Clinics Inc. is the reliable health partner for the residents and communities in the district of Leipzig. More than 950 employees provide around-the-clock regional basic and regular care within the disciplines of surgery, internal medicine, gynaecology/obstetrics as well as paediatrics and youth medicine with a total of 355 beds – all state-of-the-art and ISO-certified. In addition, the Muldental Clinics offer recognised specialised services in hand surgery, tumour surgery and therapy, thyroid gland operations and palliative medicine.

Muldental Clinics Inc. has its headquarters in Wurzen. The two traditional hospitals in Grimma and Wurzen, the Medical Care Centres (MVZ) in Colditz, Wurzen and Grimma and the Muldental Home for the Elderly gGmbH in Wurzen and Brandis belong to the non-profit company of the Muldental Clinics. The sole shareholder of the municipal company, which has been successful since 1997, is the district of Leipzig.

Xantas AG

Founded in 2007, Xantas AG is a SME that develops software for data analysis in hospitals. The software development centre is located in Leipzig. Xantas predominantly produces the software solution Vismedica®, which, thanks to its modular structure, is now used by more than 100 hospitals in Germany, Austria and Switzerland. In these hospitals – with a total capacity of almost 50,000 hospital beds – the software is the sound basis for analyses of over 5 million outpatients and inpatients treated annually in the medical, surgical or financial controlling fields.

The focus of the software development to date has been on the one hand on connecting SAP-based clinical information systems, and on the other hand on creating classic data warehouse models based on a nomenclature and system especially developed for the healthcare sector. Ten years of experience in the field of systematisation in the analysis process design of a hospital enables the company to react quickly and comprehensively to new challenges in the health care system and to pursue innovative approaches.

Associated Partner

University Hospital Leipzig AöR

As the second oldest German university hospital, The University Hospital of Leipzig (UHL) together with the Medical Faculty looks back on a rich tradition. Today, the hospital has one of the most modern structural and technical infrastructures in Europe with around 1,450 beds. Every year, over 400,000 in- and outpatients are treated here at the highest medical level. These patients benefit from the cutting-edge research power UHL’s scientists, as the latest findings from medical research are quickly and reliably transferred into medical practice here.

News

Press

arzt mit tablet

Improved patient safety through a clinical decision support systems in laboaratory medicine

27.03.2020

Medical errors are among the most common causes of death in industrialised countries. The research project on digital laboratory medicine (AMPEL) aims at developing a clinical decision support system based on laboratory diagnostics, which supports practitioners in ensuring the necessary medical consequences. The system also supports medical documentation. [More]
Source: Der Internist

(Picture: © Stefan Straube/UKL)

Focus on patient safety - One year of the AMPEL project

10.01.2020

Traffic lights are not only important on the road – they can also make life safer in hospitals. AMPEL (in German traffic lights) stands for Analysis and Reporting System for the Improvement of Patient Safety through Real-Time Integration of Laboratory Findings. The aim is to ensure that no vital laboratory value gets lost in everyday medical life. [More]
Source: University of Leipzig Medical Center

Telemedicine on the rise - video consultation hours and digital projects help patients

11.05.2019

Digitisation in the health care system is gaining momentum. Politicians and the health system hope for better, faster and more cost-effective care. [More]
Source: heise online

New Tele project to improve security

11.01.2019

In a new telemedicine project, laboratory values of patients are to be linked to already existing patient data. This is intended to provide information about the diseases that are present. [More]
Source: Ärzte Zeitung

(Picture: © Stefan Straube/UKL)

Millions in funding for AMPEL: Clinical research project of digital laboratory medicine for increased patient safety

17.12.2018

Barbara Klepsch, Saxon State Minister of Social Affairs and Consumer Protection, presented a grant of more than 2.6 million euros to the Institute of Laboratory Medicine, Clinical Chemistry and Molecular Diagnostics. [More]
Source: University of Leipzig Medical Center

(Picture: © Stefan Straube/UKL)

This is custom heading element

13.12.2018

The AMPEL project receives financial support from the Free State of Saxony. The measures are co-financed by taxes on the basis of the budget adopted by the members of the Saxon state parliament. [More]
Source: Saxon State Chancellery

Menu

Analyse- und Meldesystem zur Verbesserung
der Patientensicherheit durch Echtzeit-
integration von Laborbefunden

Ziel der Konsortiumpartner im Projekt AMPEL ist die Entwicklung einer Software, welche durch digitale Vernetzung die klinische Versorgung verbessert und die Patientensicherheit erhöht. Die zu entwickelnde, nutzerorientierte Softwarelösung soll einen nachhaltigen Effekt auf die Qualität der Patientenversorgung haben, indem sie durch elektronische Überwachung der Diagnostik in Echtzeit eine angemessene Therapie sicherstellt.

Logo der Sächsischen Aufbaubank

Diese Maßnahme wird mitfinanziert mit Steuermitteln auf Grundlage
des von den Abgeordneten des Sächsischen Landtags beschlossenen Haushaltes.

Projekt

Mit dem im Rahmen dieses Projektes AMPEL (Analyse- und Meldesystem zur Verbesserung der Patientensicherheit durch Echtzeitintegration von Laborbefunden) geplanten Dateninformations-, -bewertungs-, Melde- und Reportingsystem soll der medizinische Entscheider durch die verbesserte Verfügbarkeit und eine automatische Gewichtung medizinischer Informationen in seiner Arbeit für die Patientenversorgung auch in kleineren peripheren medizinischen Versorgungseinrichtungen unterstützt werden.

Kernstück des Projektes ist hierbei das Meldesystem, welches bei Hinweisen auf akute Krankheitsbilder und Verzögerungen in der weiteren Diagnostik und Therapie, innerhalb von Sekunden den Labormediziner alarmiert. Dieser stellt nach ärztlicher Bewertung aller relevanten Informationen unverzüglich den Kontakt zum behandelnden Kollegen her um zu informieren, das weitere Vorgehen zu beschleunigen und damit Gefahren für den Patienten zu minimieren. Basis für die bioinformatisch gestützte umfassende labormedizinische Bewertung der Ergebnisse und Daten aus dem Labor- und Krankenhausinformationssystem ist eine komplexe Datenzusammenführung.

Am Ende des Projektes steht ein Produkt, das in Echtzeit mögliche weitere Behandlungsschritte und Therapieoptionen bewertet und mittels eines elektronischen Meldesystems an den behandelnden Arzt übermittelt. Durch ein geeignetes und weitgehend methodenunabhängiges Reporting von wesentlichen pathologischen Ergebnissen wird auch der Behandlungserfolg nach Entlassung des Patienten unterstützt.

Das Produkt wird nach Abschluss des Projektes in Vismedica®, eine Software zur Unterstützung des Klinik-Controllings der Xantas AG, überführt und für die kommerzielle Nutzung zur Verfügung gestellt.

Funktionsweise des Projektes AMPEL
Ziele des AMPEL-Projektes

Ablaufdiagramm und Ziele des AMPEL-Projektes

Ziele

Verbesserung der klinischen Versorgung

Die zu entwickelnde und zu etablierende telemedizinische Lösung soll automatisiert und in Echtzeit auf Basis der labormedizinischen Befunde Bezüge zu weiteren patientenbezogenen klinischen Informationen aus dem Patienteninformationssystem des Krankenhauses herstellen.

Alarmierung bei verzögerter oder inadäquater therapeutischer Konsequenz

Bei Hinweisen auf mögliche Verzögerungen oder Abweichungen wird unverzüglich ein medizinisches Meldesystem aktiviert, welches die notwendigen Schritte im Dialog zwischen Labormediziner und zuständigem Behandler kurzfristig sicherstellt.

Erhöhung der Patientensicherheit

Um die Patientensicherheit zu erhöhen, soll das System überwachen und in Echtzeit melden, ob aus den angeforderten Laborwerten zeitgerecht medizinisch angemessene Konsequenzen und Folgeuntersuchungen abgeleitet wurden.

Interpretationshilfen für bestimmte Befundkonstellationen

Die zu entwickelnde telemedizinische Lösung soll auf Basis der qualitätsgesicherten labormedizinischen Diagnostik des ILM Hinweise auf das Vorliegen von spezifischen Krankheitsbildern liefern und innerhalb von Sekunden („Echtzeit“) analysieren, ob aus den angeforderten Laborwerten die richtigen Konsequenzen und Folgeuntersuchungen abgeleitet wurden.

Entwicklung von Regelwerken

Die im Rahmen des AMPEL-Systems für die Alarmierung notwendigen Regelwerke sollen auf Basis etablierter klinischer Entscheidungsbäumen unter kritischer Berücksichtigung aktueller Fachliteratur sowie retrospektiver Analysen von Ergebnissen der labormedizinischen Routinediagnostik erstellt werden.

Übertragbarkeit der Ergebnisse

Das AMPEL-System soll auch kleinere Krankenhäuser bei der Patientenversorgung unterstützen. Dafür sind labormedizinische Befunde bestens geeignet, da sie bereits jetzt aufgrund ihrer hohen Qualität und guten Vergleichbarkeit auch zwischen unterschiedlichen medizinischen Laboren eine vielversprechende Ausgangsposition für geeignete klinische Entscheidungsunterstützungssysteme darstellen. Diese wird durch die Implementierung einer einheitlichen Parameterbezeichnung LOINC (Logical Observation Identifiers Names and Codes) weiter verbessert.

Dokumentation von Befunden und Diagnosen

Die Ergebnisse des labormedizinischen Meldesystems werden für jeden Patientenfall über den gesamten stationären Aufenthalt gesammelt und im Rahmen des Patientenentlassmanagements dann aus dem IT-System zusammen mit wesentlichen weiteren auffälligen labormedizinischen Ergebnissen in einer geeigneten Form in den Arztbrief übernommen.

Medizinische Kodierung von Befunden und Diagnosen

Die Software analysiert retrospektiv die Abschlussdokumentation der klinischen Fälle und erleichtert die Berücksichtigung relevanter Kodier- und Abrechnungsaspekte. Dieses ist vor allem aus Sicht der Abrechnung mit den Krankenkassen von großer wirtschaftlicher Bedeutung, liefert aber auch Daten, die für eine retrospektive Bewertung des Behandlungsprozesses genutzt werden können.

Konsortium

Logo der Medizinischen Fakultät der Universität Leipzig

Universitätsmedizin Leipzig / Institut für Laboratoriumsmedizin

Das Institut für Laboratoriumsmedizin, Klinische Chemie und Molekulare Diagnostik (ILM) der Universitätsmedizin Leipzig (UML) gehört zu den führenden labormedizinischen Instituten in Deutschland. Im Rahmen der Krankenversorgung werden täglich rund 1500 Patientenuntersuchungen mit insgesamt rund 20.000 labormedizinischen Analysen für Klinik, Fakultät und das Medizinische Versorgungszentrum (MedVZ) des UKL durchgeführt. Das ILM ist nach der Richtlinie 98/79/EG und DIN EN ISO/IEC 17025, sowie den Richtlinien 93/42/EWG, 90/385/EWG und DIN EN ISO 15189 akkreditiert. Das Leistungsspektrum umfasst die klinische Chemie, hämatologische Diagnostik, Hämostaseologie, Immun- und Liquordiagnostik, endokrinologische Diagnostik sowie Molekular- und Spezialdiagnostik.

Zusätzlich erbringt das Institut als Screeningzentrum Sachsen zusammen mit dem Standort Dresden jährlich etwa 50.000 Neugeborenenscreening- Untersuchungen auf angeborene Stoffwechselkrankheiten für den Freistaat Sachsen und Thüringen. Die Forschung am ILM umfasst die Metabolom- und Proteinanalytik, sowie die molekulare und genetische Erforschung von Gefäßerkrankungen und Stoffwechselstörungen. Das Institut verfügt darüber hinaus über einen eigenen Bereich zur Durchführung der labormedizinischen Analytik klinischer Studien. Es bestehen Forschungskooperationen mit zahlreichen nationalen und internationalen Kooperationspartnern aus Forschung und Wissenschaft. In diesem Zusammenhang fungiert das ILM auch als wichtiger Partner für bedeutende Studienvorhaben wie die LIFE-Studie (Leipziger Forschungszentrum für Zivilisationserkrankungen) und die Medizininformatik-Initiative des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung SMITH (Smart Medical Information Technology for Healthcare).

Logo der Muldentalkliniken

Muldentalkliniken GmbH Gemeinnützige Gesellschaft

Die Muldentalkliniken GmbH, Gemeinnützige Gesellschaft ist der zuverlässige Gesundheitspartner der Menschen und Kommunen im Landkreis Leipzig. Über 950 Mitarbeitende sichern rund um die Uhr die regionale Grund- und Regelversorgung mit den Disziplinen Chirurgie, Innere Medizin, Gynäkologie/Geburtshilfe und Kinder- und Jugendmedizin mit insgesamt 355 Planbetten – ISO-zertifiziert und auf dem neuesten Stand der Forschung. Darüber hinaus bieten die Muldentalkliniken anerkannte Spezialleistungen in der Handchirurgie, in der Tumorchirurgie und -therapie, bei Schilddrüsenoperationen und in der Palliativmedizin.

Die Muldentalkliniken GmbH hat ihren Hauptsitz in Wurzen. Zur gemeinnützigen Gesellschaft der Muldentalkliniken gehören die beiden traditionsreichen Krankenhäuser in Grimma und Wurzen, die Medizinischen Versorgungszentren (MVZ) in Colditz, Wurzen und Grimma sowie die Altenheimgesellschaft Muldental gGmbH in Wurzen und Brandis. Alleingesellschafter des seit 1997 erfolgreichen kommunalen Unternehmens ist der Landkreis Leipzig.

Logo der Xantas AG

Xantas AG

Die 2007 gegründete Xantas AG entwickelt als KMU Software für die Datenanalyse in Krankenhäusern. Das Software-Entwicklungszentrum befindet sich am Standort Leipzig. Xantas stellt schwerpunktmäßig die Softwarelösung Vismedica® her, welche sich auch dank ihres modularen Aufbaus inzwischen bei über 100 Kliniken in Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz im Einsatz befindet. Die Software ist in diesen Häusern – mit einer Gesamtkapazität von fast 50.000 Krankenhausbetten – die fundierte Basis für Analysen u.a. in den Bereichen Medizin-, OP- oder Finanzcontrolling von über 5 Millionen jährlich behandelter ambulanter und stationärer Patienten.

Schwerpunkte der bisherigen Software-Entwicklung waren einerseits das Anbinden SAP-basierter klinischer Informationssysteme, andererseits das Erstellen klassischer Datawarehouse-Modelle auf Basis einer speziell für das Gesundheitswesen entwickelten Nomenklatur und Systematik. Die 10-jährige Erfahrung auf dem Gebiet der Systematisierung im Analyseprozess-Design eines Krankenhauses ermöglicht es der Firma, schnell und umfassend auch auf neue Herausforderungen im Gesundheitswesen zu reagieren und innovative Ansätze zu verfolgen.

Assoziierter Partner

Logo des Universitätsklinikum Leipzig

Universitätsklinikum Leipzig AöR

Das Universitätsklinikum Leipzig (UKL) blickt gemeinsam mit der Medizinischen Fakultät als zweitälteste deutsche Universitätsmedizin auf eine reiche Tradition zurück. Heute verfügt das Klinikum mit rund 1450 Betten über eine der modernsten baulichen und technischen Infrastrukturen in Europa. Jährlich werden hier über 400.000 stationäre und ambulante Patienten auf höchstem medizinischem Niveau behandelt. Diese profitieren von der innovativen Forschungskraft der Wissenschaftler, indem hier neueste Erkenntnisse aus der Medizinforschung schnell und gesichert in die medizinische Praxis überführt werden.

News

Presse

arzt mit tablet

Verbesserte Patientensicherheit durch „clinical decision support systems“ in der Labormedizin

27.03.2020

Medizinische Fehler gehören zu den häufigsten Todesursachen in Industrieländern. Im Rahmen des öffentlich geförderten Verbundprojekts AMPEL wird an der Universitätsmedizin Leipzig ein Werkzeug der digitalen Labormedizin geschaffen, das klinische und labormedizinische Daten in Echtzeit analysiert und bei kritischen Konstellationen Warnungen und weitere fachliche Unterstützung anbietet. Zudem unterstützt das System die medizinische Dokumentation. [Weiter]
Quelle: Der Internist

Pressebild zur Meldung "Ein Jahr AMPEL-Projekt"

(Foto: © Stefan Straube/UKL)

Die Patientensicherheit im Fokus – Ein Jahr AMPEL-Projekt

10.01.2020

Ampeln sind nicht nur im Straßenverkehr wichtig, sie können das Leben auch im Krankenhaus sicherer machen. Denn AMPEL steht hier für „Analyse- und Meldesystem zur Verbesserung der Patientensicherheit durch Echtzeitintegration von Laborbefunden“. So soll erreicht werden, dass kein lebenswichtiger Laborwert im medizinischen Alltag. [Weiter]
Quelle: Universitätsklinikum Leipzig

Telemedizin im Aufwind – Videosprechstunden und Digitalprojekte helfen Patienten

11.05.2019

Die Digitalisierung im Gesundheitswesen nimmt an Fahrt auf. Politik und Gesundheitswesen erhoffen sich bessere, schnellere und kostengünstigere Betreuung. [Weiter]
Quelle: heise online

Neues Tele-Projekt soll Sicherheit verbessern

11.01.2019

Laborwerte von Patienten sollen bei einem neuen Telemedizinprojekt mit bereits vorhandenen Patientendaten verknüpft werden. Dadurch sollen sich Hinweise ergeben, welche Krankheiten vorliegen. [Weiter]
Quelle: Ärzte Zeitung

Pressebild zur Übergabe des Förderbescheides

(Foto: © Stefan Straube/UKL)

Millionenförderung für „AMPEL“: Klinisches Forschungsprojekt der digitalen Labormedizin für höhere Patientensicherheit

17.12.2018

Leipzig. Einen Förderbescheid über mehr als 2,6 Millionen Euro hat die sächsische Staatsministerin für Soziales und Verbraucherschutz Barbara Klepsch am Montag, 17. Dezember, an das Institut für Laboratoriumsmedizin, Klinische Chemie und Molekulare Diagnostik. [Weiter]
Quelle: Universitätsklinikum Leipzig

(Foto: © Stefan Straube/UKL)

Mehr als 2,6 Millionen Euro Landesmittel für Telemedizinprojekt „AMPEL“

13.12.2018

Das Projekt AMPEL erhält vom Freistaat Sachsen eine finanzielle Unterstützung. Die Maßnahmen werden mitfinanziert durch Steuermittel auf Grundlage des von den Abgeordneten des Sächsischen Landtages beschlossenen Haushaltes. [Weiter]
Quelle: Sächsische Staatskanzlei

Menü